Robert Priest with special guest Neil Chapman

Robert Priest with special guest Neil Chapman

Sat, January 28, 2017

Doors: 2:00 pm / Show: 2:30 pm

C'est What?

Toronto, ON

Robert Priest
Robert Priest
Born in 1951 in the UK, Robert Priest, is the author of 14 books of poetry, 3 plays, 2 novels, 7 music CDS, 1 hit song, many columns for Toronto's Now Magazine, and numerous pieces for CBC Radio's hit spoken word show "Wordbeat" under the alias "Dr Poetry". His passionate poetry for adults is wide-ranging and much praised, while his children's poetry is more tender, underpinned with a utopian hopefulness. Canadian novelist Barbara Gowdy has described him as "the voice of the people and the angels, entwined" and the Pacific Rim Review has said "He is certainly one of the most imaginatively inventive poets in the country." Priest's plays, novels and songs, have earned him awards and recognition in Canada, as well as a growing legion of readers (and listeners) world wide.

This year (2014) his young-adult fantasy novel The Paper Sword was published by Dundurn Press. Rosa Rose (Wolsak & Wynn 2013), a book of children's verse in praise of inspirational figures, recently won a Silver Moonbeam Award in the USA. His latest book of poems for adults is Previously Feared Darkness (ECW). His recently released fourth CD of songs - Feeling the Pinch - gets frequent airplay on college radio and the CBC.

A literary poet in the tradition of Neruda and Mayakovsky, a composer of lush love poems, and a widely quoted aphorist, Robert Priest is a mainstay of the literary/spoken word/music circuit both in Canada and abroad.

His words have been quoted in the Farmer’s Almanac, debated in the legislature (see the video at youtube.com/greatbigfaced), sung on Sesame Street, posted in Toronto's transit system, broadcast on MuchMusic, released on numerous CDs, quoted by politicians, and widely published in textbooks and anthologies.

"Poetry full of flashes of insight. Imaginative in a strange way, he takes inordinate chances with logic, countering absurdity with absurdity, and expanding our sense of human emotional possibilities."
Venue Information:
C'est What?
67 Front Street E.
Toronto, ON, M5E 1B5
http://www.cestwhat.ca